Up Level


table of contents

Sor Trondelag


Sør-Trøndelag is a county in the area Trøndelag in Norway, bordering Nord-Trøndelag, Møre og Romsdal, Oppland and Hedmark. To the west is the Norwegian Sea (Atlantic ocean), and to the east is Sweden. More than half of the population in the county lives in Trondheim. The Norwegian dialect of the region is Trøndersk.




The name Sør-Trøndelag was created in 1919. It means '(the) southern (part of) Trøndelag'.
Until 1919 the name of the county was Søndre Trondhjems amt. The meaning of this name was '(the) southern (part of) Trondhjems amt'. (The old Trondhjems amt, created in 1662, was divided in 1804. Trondhjem is the old form of Trondheim.)



The broad and long Trondheimsfjord is at the center of this county, although the coastal areas stretch somewhat further north. The mountain ranges Dovrefjell and Trollheimen are located in the south, while the Fosen peninsula is located north of the fjord. Several of the best salmon rivers in Europe are located in the county, the largest and most famous being Gaula and Orkla. Dovrefjell-Sunndalsfjella National Park, Forollhogna National Park ([1]) and Skarvan og Roltdalen National Park are located, or partly located, in the county.



People have lived in this region for thousands of years (see Rock carvings in Central Norway, Nøstvet and Lihult cultures and Corded Ware culture). The fertile lowland bordering the Trondheimsfjord was probably the most important power centre in the Viking Age. Trondheim was the seat of the archbishop for several centuries, and an important pilgrimage destination following the death of St Olav in 1030.
Nidaros Cathedral, TrondheimRøros, in the southeastern part of the county, is a well-preserved mining town on a mountain plateau, and is now on Unesco's World Heritage List.


Send your e-mail with questions or suggestions about dreamlike to:
Copyright © 2007, Hanspeter Hochuli, Ennetburgen, Switzerland
last updated:  20.07.2007